Lexiphile or lexophile?

Lexophile or lexiphile?   My sister recently sent me an email with some phrases that lexiphiles would enjoy.  (and NO a lexiphile is not someone who stops by a girl’s house on Dateline NBC. Chris Hansen will not invite you in for cookies if you are a lexiphile.)
Ok- the word describes those that have a love for words and word plays.

As I investigated the word lexiphile, I found two different spellings. www.wisegeek.com says Lexophiles “may study words in any language, although many choose to focus on a specific language to pursue their interests. Some simply collect words which they think are unusual or interesting. Others may follow the history of language, the evolution of words in common use, and other language-related topics.”

I haven’t figured out why sometimes there is an “i” after the “x”, and why sometimes it has an “o” after the x

Either way, I guess I am one.

12 responses to “Lexiphile or lexophile?

  1. I also received an email for lexiphiles and, like you, figured it should be spelled with an “o”,

  2. Strictly speaking, “word” in Greek is “lexi” not “lexo”, so if you want to write it correctly, you should spell it “lexiphile” (lit: wordlover)

  3. Louise Thanks. That makes a lot of sense.

  4. My pleasure. By the way, I’m an Australian of Greek descent, so that’s how I know this stuff. . . : )

  5. So what’s a logophile? That’s the word I have always used. Greek ‘logos’, word…

  6. Kathy
    You are right. Logophile is a lover of words. (I had to look it up) Welcome fellow logophile!

  7. Louise: “lexi-” may be Greek, but the dictionaries here in America use “lexophile” or “logophile” with the preferred word being logophile.

  8. Lexis (λἐξις) is the lexical form of one of the Greek words for “word.” The stem is lex (λεξ), it has an iota (ι) connecting vowel and the masculine nominative case ending is sigma (ς). So, when it’s combined with -phile (φἰλη) it keeps its stem and connecting vowel and becomes lexiphile. The stem and connecting vowel for logos (λὀγος) is log (λογ) and omicron (ο) and becomes logophile. In the above cases, the rules of morphology do not require the connecting vowel to change.
    On another note, both mean “word lover”. If we look at the original roots, however, lexiphile is probably a more precise term for lovers of vocabulary, while logophile might have the added nuance of the expression behind words. That is, the object of a lexiphile’s love may be vocabulary itself, while the object of the logophile may be expression through words.

  9. KarenInSacramento

    I found this site via looking up “lexiphile” after receiving just such an email. I now consider the email to have included false advertising, as most of the contents were simply puns. ;)

  10. Jeff rules!
    Here is the most updated compilation which I’d like to call Lexiphilist…
    A backward poet writes inverse.
    A bicycle can’t stand alone; it is two tired.
    A boiled egg is hard to beat.
    A calendar’s days are numbered.
    A chicken crossing the road: poultry in motion.
    A dentist and a manicurist married. They fought tooth and nail.
    A dyslexic man walks into a bra.
    A grenade fell onto a kitchen floor in France and resulted in Linoleum Blownapart.
    A lot of money is tainted: ‘Taint yours, and ‘taint mine.
    A plateau is a high form of flattery.
    A thief fell and broke his leg in wet cement. He became a hardened criminal.
    A thief who stole a calendar got twelve months.
    A will is a dead giveaway.
    Acupuncture is a jab well done. That’s the point of it.
    All the toilets in New York ‘s police stations have been stolen. Police have nothing to go on.
    And the cream of the wretched crop:
    Bakers trade bread recipes on a knead to know basis.
    Broken pencils are pointless.
    Cartoonist found dead in home. Details are sketchy.
    Class trip to the Coca-Cola factory– I hope there’s no pop quiz.
    Did you hear about the cross eyed teacher who lost her job because she couldn’t control her pupils?
    Did you hear about the guy whose whole left side was cut off? He’s all right now.
    Earthquake in Washington obviously government’s fault.
    England has no kidney bank, but it does have a Liverpool.
    He broke into song because he couldn’t find the key.
    He had a photographic memory which was never developed.
    How does Moses make his tea? Hebrews it.
    I did a theatrical performance about puns. It was a play on words.
    I got a job at a bakery because I kneaded dough.
    I know a guy who’s addicted to brake fluid. He says he can stop anytime.
    I stayed up all night to see where the sun went. Then it dawned on me.
    I tried to catch some fog. I mist.
    I used to be a banker, but then I lost interest.
    I used to think I was indecisive, but now I’m not so sure.
    I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger. Then it hit me!
    If you don’t pay your exorcist you can get repossessed.
    If you jump off a Paris bridge, you are in Seine.
    If you take a laptop computer for a run you could jog your memory.
    I’m reading a book about anti-gravity. I can’t put it down.
    In a democracy it’s your vote that counts; in feudalism, it’s your Count that votes.
    Jokes about German sausage are the wurst.
    Local Area Network in Australia : The LAN down under.
    PMS jokes aren’t funny, period.
    Police were called to a day care center where a three-year-old was resisting a rest.
    Santa’s helpers are subordinate clauses.
    Show me a piano falling down a mine shaft and I’ll show you A-flat miner.
    The dead batteries were given out free of charge.
    The Energizer bunny arrested and charged with battery.
    The guy who fell onto an upholstery machine is now fully recovered.
    The math professor went crazy with the blackboard. He did a number on it.
    The old man didn’t like his beard at first. Then it grew on him.
    The professor discovered that his theory of earthquakes was on shaky ground.
    The roundest knight at King Arthur’s round table was Sir Cumference.
    The short fortune teller who escaped from prison was a small medium at large.
    They told me I had type A blood, but it was a type-O.
    Thieves who steal corn from a garden could be charged with stalking.
    This girl said she recognized me from the vegetarian club, but I’d never met herbivore.
    Those who get too big for their pants will be exposed in the end.
    Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.
    To write with a broken pencil is pointless.
    Velcro – what a rip off!
    Venison for dinner? Oh deer!
    What do you call a dinosaur with an extensive vocabulary? A thesaurus.
    When a clock is hungry it goes back four seconds.
    When chemists die, they barium.
    When fish are in schools they sometimes take debate.
    When she saw her first strands of gray hair she thought she’d dye.
    When the smog lifts in Los Angeles, UCLA …
    When you get a bladder infection, urine trouble.
    When you’ve seen one shopping Center you’ve seen a mall.
    Why were the Indians here first? They had reservations.
    With her marriage she got a new name and a dress.
    You are stuck with your debt if you can’t budge it.

  11. Pingback: For lexophiles only | The Barbershop: Dennis Byrne, Proprietor

  12. Thanks for the comment, Dennis.

Leave a Reply

