Thank you or no problem?

 The book, “The Road to Optimism  Change Your Language, Change your Life” (Perry and Griggs) covers the topic of speaking in a positive manner. I read this book as part of Rick Grigg’s Mastery Academy.   http://griggsachieve.com

Flickr-ralph and jenny

Flickr-ralph and jenny

It seems people now say, “No problem” instead of thank you.  I know this has been a thorn in many people’s side, and I saw someone write into Dear Abbey about it. 

When you thank someone (usually younger), they reply “No problem” instead of you’re welcome.  Why do people not  say “You’re welcome” any more?  Their response has a negative connotation to it, and seems to dampen the whole conversation.

 Anyone else notice this trend? Comments?

11 responses to “Thank you or no problem?

  1. About a year ago, I actually caught myself saying “no problem” to everyone. And, made a focused effort to say “you’re welcome” instead. It actually makes a difference to say you’re welcome. And, not only that you say it but “how” you say it. You’re welcome said with inflection makes people want to contact you again.

  2. Thanks Marty
    As a speaker, you know the power of words.
    Check back for other uses of words in coming posts.

  3. But the young people make up for it when you say, “excuse me.” You know what they say?

    “You’re good.”

    I think that’s so cool.

  4. Woody Woodward

    Bob, if the young folks in your area express a humble “no problem”, I think that’s cause to rejoice! All we get in Kansas City is a disgusted look, a nasty gesture or a disgruntled shrug.

  5. Woody (KC Chief ticket-holder)

    Yeah. And you have to cheer for the Chiefs too. Maybe there is a connection cuz. Go BRONCOS

  6. Scott Holder

    “No problem” doesn’t bother me at all. It’s much the same as “Not at all”, “Think nothing of it”, “No trouble at all”, “Anytime”, or “My pleasure”. Any response or hopefully saying thank you themselves shows good manners in my opinion. Now that I think about it, “No problem” might even be better than the automatic “You’re welcome” given without thought simply because you’ve been programmed to say it since childhood. Great articles by the way. Just ran across them, I’ll be back for more.

  7. Thanks Scott. I sent you an email.

  8. I felt exactly the same and this why I landed on your blog from Google.

    I feel it is better to say “you’re welcome”.
    And I put my effort for it too.

  9. I am so glad you agree. Thanks for finding me and reading my blog. Are you really in India?
    I am in Loveland, Colorado.

  10. Yes, I’m from India. To be specific, from Kerala.
    Very happy to meet you.

    Colorado seems awesome.
    Learned some things about ur place from
    http://www.colorado.com

  11. Nice to meet you too. See more about Loveland at http://www.loveland.org