Bimbos and bread

By Bob McDonnell

There is a bread outlet store in Loveland that has great bargains. When we were there last Saturday, a sign on the window struck me as, well, odd. (See thumbnail picture with this post)

Naming a company can be a “slippery slope.” I plan to do a post on  local store nameing in a future post but I couldn’t pass this one up.    

It turns out the company is called Bimbo Bakeries of America, but is also known as the Entenman’s Orowheat Bakery Outlet. What a hoot!


I had to go to dictionary.com to see if my recollection of the word bimbo was as I thought. Dictionary.com says:

1.       A foolish, stupid or inept person

2.       A man or fellow, often a disreputable or contemptible one

 

 

8 responses to “Bimbos and bread

  1. Woody Woodward

    That name doesn’t paint a very appetizing image. I have a friendly competitor in the lumber business whose company is called “Low Grade Lumber!” That’s a name that for me would be hard to represent. Think of how the salesperson makes a positive introduction?

  2. Woody Sounds like he did you a favor. Given a choice between you and low grade would be a no-brainer, right?
    Still think it is funny you were in the lumber biz with your name.

  3. Bimbo is the last name. Read about the companies history here:
    http://www.bimbobakeriesusa.com/about_us/our_history.html

    But yeah, perhaps this wasn’t the “best” name!

  4. Jen-thanks for the information. I think I will update my post to tell about the family name. Can you email me at wordsbybob@gmail.com? I would like to give you credit for pointing out this info to me. Thanks

  5. Woody Woodward

    Hey Bob, wood’s my namd and wood’s my game!

  6. Woody–
    Umm, no comment.

  7. I saw a funny shop name I will never forget last time I visited Ireland. It was for a Butchery that was called in proud letters above the store: ‘The Family Butcher’. I certainly won’t be taking my family to visit thanks!

  8. Mark Now that is scary! Reminds me of the Eagle Cleaners. You don’t want to have a dirty eagle. I am mulling around the idea of a blog post about company names.