How not to name a company

Open Mrk.cool

Open Mrk.cool

When I decided to set up my writing company, Words by Bob, I thought about the name quite a bit.  I wanted something short, memorable and flexible.  In addition, something that was easy to type as a web site and fit on a nametag.

 I hope I have achieved this. Being a simple guy (no comments necessary here), my company name, web site, and email are all the same. 

Some businesses apparently didn’t put much thought into their business names.  I know of two locally that incorporated a specific location in the company name.  The Madison Avenue Furniture Store is now on Lincoln Avenue, for whatever reason.  And, when the Fourth Street Bead Shop relocated, they had to drop the Fourth Street from the sign.

 Some people must not see the value of being unique. In the local phone book, here is what I found. 

Rocky Mountain was used to start the name of 75 very diverse businesses. Even more popular is Front Range with 84.  Being patriotic, 90-some establishments are called American something.

Fifty-eight are Western and 39 United.  So much for brainstorming.  Kinda hard to stick out.  If you think these are overload, look up Mile High in the Denver telephone book.

I know there are many web sites and blogs that feature unique business names. Many are cute, punny or a good play on words.  One that comes to mind here is Poppa Wheelie’s that sells car auto rims.

Think before you name!

5 responses to “How not to name a company

  1. Woody Woodward

    Great thoughts Bob! When we started our company in 2005, my partner and I thought long and hard about a fresh name for an old forest industry, lumber. We knew it needed to relate to wood, trees and forest products and since this was a new frontier for both of us, we came up with Frontier Forest Products. Not real clever but it’ll do the trick. Customers can put us in their systems as FFP.

  2. Good one Woody. With you name, you could have called it Woody’s Wood. (or maybe not)

  3. One of the challenges in my industry, Internet marketing, is to get people to think about the Internet and domain names while coming up with their business name, not after.

  4. wordsbybob

    Seth That is a good point. It’s almost a “which came first situation at times.”

  5. Pingback: bobsheartbeats.com » Loveland Consignment shop gone