Somewhat unique– I don’t think so

Unique  by back_garage  flickr

flickr back_garage

Somewhat unique? Hmm.  Seems like a term that could have been covered in my redundancy post or my oxymoron post.  This term bugs me, and I saw it again recently. 

I admit it, I still read newspapers. Since I freelance for at least one, that is probably a good thing.

In the local paper a couple of day ago, a reporter was telling about an upcoming photo exhibit. For whatever reason, the (professional writer) scribe said the event was “somewhat unique.”

Noooo! 

By the way, in a prior post I ranted about a couple of reporters who used roll and role incorrectly too.

An event is UNIQUE.  No adjectives needed. It isn’t uniquely unique, quite unique or even mostly unique.  

This is like being “slightly” pregnant.  It is an all or nothing proposition. (No pun intended)  

Closer to home for me is the term slight heart attack.  I have heard it said that a slight heart attack is one that happens to someone else.
Ok, I feel better.  More next week and until I take a break as I get my body worked on.

2 responses to “Somewhat unique– I don’t think so

  1. Woody Woodward

    Sound to me like these reporters were in a bozone! Bozone ( n.): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops bright ideas from penetrating. The bozone layer, unfortunately, shows little sign of breaking down in the near future.

  2. You are always good for a laugh, my friend. As I said before, you should have a blog. It would keep you out of trouble.