Innocent or naive?

flickr  jglsong

flickr jglsong

I was reading in the local newspaper last weekend about an upcoming musical event. The director of the music called the characters “not so much naive as they are innocent.”

This statement got me thinking.  I guess I always considered innocent and naïve as being synonymous. (For my Iowa readers, this means they are essentially the same.)

 On further investigation, I found there are some differences.

 Innocent means pure or without sin and not involved with evil intent. It also means guiltless (like O.J.?)  Actually, I think he was found not guilty which is a subtle different.  But, I digress. 

Naïve on the other hand means unaffected simplicity or absence of artificiality. A naïve person is usually considered unsophisticated.   They also probably lack life experiences.

 

What other pairs of words have a close but not exactly the same meaning?

4 responses to “Innocent or naive?

  1. I was thinking about you/this when I was deciding whether to use vigilante or mercenary recently. There’s a difference, but it doesn’t matter much if you’re on the wrong end of the gun.

  2. Woody Woodward

    How about Ignoranus: A person who’s both stupid and an asshole. Sorry Bob, but just couldn’t resist!

  3. Bob.
    What’s with the slam on people from Iowa? Even your ` your 12 year old niece knows what synonymous means.

  4. Hi denny
    No offense meant. It was an attempt at humor. I grew up on Iowa, and have tons of family there.
    Happy holidays!