Musings about speedometers

Speedometer small versionWords, the use of words and humor in words are what this blog is about. Today, I have the urge to post about numbers.

I guess I can put this item in the context of words.  Maybe it is about form and function, limits, reasonability or common sense.

Anyway, I will try it. I own a Honda van.  Actually, we own two Hondas since my wife drives an Accord.

For some strange reason, I was looking at the speedometer recently.  No, it wasn’t because I saw a cop with a radar gun.  Have you ever notices the numbers shown on a speedometer?

Isn’t it strange that the posted speed limits are mainly 25, 35, 55, etc. but these number do not show on my dashboard.  I almost have to estimate where the right spot is between 20 mph and 30 mph to say within the limit.

The main curiosity on my speed dial is that it goes to 160 mph.  160! Give me a break.  No one would or could do that in an Odyssey van even on the Salt Flat racing grounds. (My wife’s car only goes to 150 so I guess I could beat her in a race.)

The only explanation I can figure is that since the display is round, they needed all those number to fill space. Why not just leave it blank?

So, I guess this is just one of the mysteries of life.

While I sit and contemplate it, I will put something on the microwave oven and “nuke” it for 45 minutes. (But maybe that is another post for another day.

7 responses to “Musings about speedometers

  1. Woody Woodward

    Hate to break it to you Brother Bob, but if you nuke anything in the microwave for 45 minutes, it will be about as toasted as the engine in the Honda, trying to do 160 MPH!

  2. Woody Woodward

    By the way Bob, did you know, that the words race car spelled backward says race car.

    I should put that in my anagram post. Thnx

  3. I should put that in my anagram post. Thanks

  4. Bob
    Why for chris sake do you expect the speedometer designers to stop marking on speedometers at 60 if normally you drive at 60 mph.

    And who is to regulate that a specific design of speedomentr should only be used in a Honda only-
    for example when testing the max speed a vehicle is capable of acheiving should they use a different design of speedometer and fit a different one after wards to suit the customers whims!
    Reconsider please!

  5. Some of this has to do with the accuracy of circular analog gauges. They are more accurate in the middle so they design them with some room at the ends.

    And if some fool does try to max the car and pinned the speedometer at… say… 110? That would ill the instrument. So it makes room for fools?

    At least that’s what I remembers from long long ago in a galaxy far far away… when I was much nerdier than I am now.

    Blissings
    David

  6. Bob, This reminds me of a recent trip the family took to Wisconsin. We flew into Chicago (because we wanted to visit the museum of science and industry) and after flying from Florida to Chicago, we picked up the rental car and started off for Wisconsin. After about an hour, I asked my oldest son if he wanted to drive for a while. He had been driving for about 30 minutes and I had told him to slow down about 3-4 times. He came up with the idea to make a privacy screen (like the ones the make for computer monitors) for the speedometers in cars so the passengers could not see how fast you are going. About 2 minutes later we crested a hill and there was the State Trooper in the median. In about 20-30 minutes we were again on our way, only $287.00 lighter in the wallet. UGH!!!

  7. Larry One of life’s lessons I guess? When we drove as a family to Calif., I told my then teenage son any tickets he got were his to pay. We also had a rule that the drive got to pick the radio station. Not a good idea!