Naming a new company

 

flickr karen horton

Picking the name for a company was the topic of a wordsbybob blog post almost a year ago.  I still shake my head at some I see as I am out and about. 

I found a blog post by Brian Banmiller  (he has a blog and I have heard him on the radio) that gives some great ideas on what has worked and not worked.

Banmiller gives some examples of company names that have worked and some that have not.   Take a look at his blog when you get a chance.  

Overall, he says there are various theories on how to attack the topic. Some of the techniques suggested are: 

    Pasting two words together, which he calls hooking.  

    Conjuring up new words 

    Drop a letter off an existing word 

    Using parts of two words to make an entirely  new one 

    Purposely misspelling a word 

    Double letters — repeat a letter on a word. 

    Going with the ever popular “E” or “You” in front of a word. 

    Using foreign words 

Let me know if you have tried any of these.

Comments are closed.