New words in the dictionary

I like dictionaries. I even resort to using a dusty hard-back version at times, but love the online resources too. I am pleased to see that the Loveland Rotary Club still gives free dictionaries to every third-grader in the school district each year. The funds for this come from the Rotary’s annual duck race. That reminds me, I need to take my tickets out of my wallet for this year’s event. I guess I can assume I did not win any of the great prizes. (Some third-grader can thank me for my donation, I guess)

Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate® Dictionary adds new words to their extensive dictionary each year. You can keep up with trends by some of the words they find have made their way into mainstream speech and writing. This year is no exception. Here are some that were recently added:

Bromance a close nonsexual friendship between men (This is a portmanteau)

m-commerce a business transaction conducted on a cell phone or other mobile device

fist bump or fist-bump when two people bump their fists together to celebrate or greet each other

boomerang kid A child, usually and adult one, who moves back home. For financial reasons mainly.

helicopter parent A parent who is overly involved in their child’s life. (they hover—get it?) Maybe their kids become boomerang kids later.

robocall an automated and prerecorded telephone call sent to multitudes of people. (Politicians seem to be fond of these calls)

crowdsourcing means to outsource tasks, traditionally performed by an employee or contractor, to an undefined, large group of people or community (a crowd for example), through an open call.

Other “new” words include social media, tweet (not the bird kind) and cougar (not the four-legged kind)—but these are not new to most of us.

NOTE: Most of these new words have not been added to spell check it appears. It flagged them.

One response to “New words in the dictionary

  1. KarenInSacramento

    Ugh. Most of these are slang, and likely to be short-lived (such as “fist bump” or “crowdsoursing”. They don’t need to be put into Merriam-Webster– the Urban Dictionary will do!

    Well, at least “refudiate” wasn’t officially made a word…