Veterans

Veteran definition

Today is Veterans Day. (11/11/11) What is a veteran?  The dictionary has one definition that states it a person who has served in a military forces.

Today on Facebook, this definition was posted:

A veteran – whether active duty, discharged, retired or reserve –is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to “The United States of America,” for an amount “up to and including his life.”

I like the FB one except it should honor both the men AND women who are serving or have served.

Additionally, here is what I posted on Facebook today:

Just had breakfast with a room full of heroes. We attended the Veterans Day breakfast at the Associated Vet’s Club in Loveland.

Lots of ball caps from WWII, Korea and Viet Nam logos  on them. Some lucky ones still fit in their uniforms too.
Saw men in their 80s in uniform, and one gentleman who with a purple heart jacket stating he was combat wounded. WOW.

I thank them all.

I proudly wore my black ball cap that says Vietnam Era Vet on it. On the back I had embroidered the locations I served in Thailand – Bangkok  —  Takhli – Phitsanaluk.  (June 1966 to May 1967)

Enjoy your freedom today, and every day and shake a veterans hand when you
see one. Tell them “thanks” or “welcome home.”

Bob McDonnell   U.S.A.F  1963 to 1967

Comments are closed.