Redunant words — again

Redundant words are one of my favorite topics.  See my earlier blog post on redundant words and redundancies.

At last weekend’s Northern Colorado Writers Conference in Fort Collins, I was again reminded of this topic.  (Find out more about Northern Colorado Writers)

During a break between sessions, I was having a soft drink and chatting with some other conference attendees and one of the agents who attended.  A wonderful fringe benefit about the NCW conference is that the presenters and agents in attendance mingle during breaks, and sit at the tables with the writers at meal times. 

Steve Mettee, one of the agents, sat with us as we took a short respite from the educational sessions.  We all chatted with him about where he was from (California), things to do in Fort Collins, and other conferences he has attended.

Steve was nice enough to ask me about my writing, so I told him about wordsbybob.com.  Steve shared his love for words, and said he has a pet redundancy that bothered him.

Mettee’s example, which I haven’t address in past redundant word blog posts, was “the reason why.”  
I agree with Steve.  It should be ‘the reason” or “why.”   Not both.

This ranks up there with my semi-rant about the somewhat unique redundancy.

As an aside, Steve’s company is called Quill Driver Books.  Quill driver is an interesting term–look it  up.

line

4 responses to “Redunant words — again

  1. Sorry to have to tell you, wordsbybob, but you seem to suffer a bit from your own favorite malady. In your post you wrote, “I was again reminded of this topic.” I think you could have done without “again,” as that’s what “reminded” implies. On second thought, I’ll bet you slyly planted it there, just to see (a) if anyone’s paying attention, and (b) if you’ve learned us anything about redundancy. Clearly, you have. And you have done it in an extremely unique way!

  2. Billybob I know this post would bring out my favorite Calif. attorney. (Actually, the only one I know in the state.) I wish your assumption on “planting” an erro was correct, but it is not. Can’t you be reminded and the reminded again?
    This reminds me of a prior rant I had on double-check. My wife always “double-checks” if she has turned of the stove, even though it is her first time seeing if it is on.
    Thanks again for continuing to read my stuff, and for keeping me honest.

  3. Isn’t short respite redundant?! It wouldn’t be a long respite now would it?

  4. I agree on the short respite. I have heard it said that way many times. It is a redundancy. Thanks for reading my blog.