Are you a troglodyte?

TROGLODYTE   I love it when I see a new word or one I do not know what it means.  In today’s newspaper  (yes, I still read them) there was a letter to the editor that included the word troglodyte.

This sent me scurrying for the dictionary.  Actually, it made me do a Google search of the word troglodyte.

Here is what I found:

For one, it means someone who lives in a cave, especially if they are a member of a cave-dwelling community.  

It also means a loner–someone living by themself or who is antisocial.

Additionally, the label of troglodyte can be applied to someone who  has reclusive habits, is outmoded or has reactionary attitudes

2 responses to “Are you a troglodyte?

  1. Hi, wordsbybob,
    I appreciate learning about “troglodyte,” the meaning of which I had forgotten. I’m less appreciative of your mangling English usage. You wrote, “For one, it means someone who lives in a cave, especially if they are a member of a cave-dwelling community.” As PC as it might be, a “member” is singular and therefore can’t be a “they,” but only a “he” (unless writing of solely a female/females). Neither is it proper to write that “someone” lives “by themself”; the latter word is plural, while “someone” is singular. I”m certain you would agree that the English written in a blog extolling the wonders of English should be proper English. N’est-ce pas?

    Just a thought…..

  2. Point taken. Thanks