Frabjous?

Frabjous     I never heard this word until yesterday.

I was at a meeting of the Northern Colorado Writers.  It was the monthly coffee where a few members get together and share ideas and challenges.

At the start of the meeting, the director of NCW, Kerrie Flanigan, asks everyone to say who they are and what they are working on.  She also has a question of the day.

Yesterday’s question was, “What is your favorite word?”   For many, especially writers, it is hard to pin down just one word.

One person in the group said her word was frabjous.  I should have known this word, I guess, but it sent me scrambling to learn more.

Frabjous is from Lewis Carroll‘s Jabberwocky.  If is a combination of  “fabulous” and ”joyous”.

I also learned that frabjous is a nonce word.  This means it is a word invented for an occasion.

Know of any other nonce words?

(By the way, my word was serendipity)

One response to “Frabjous?

  1. Is `quark` on of these?