Suspended coffee?

Suspended coffee — Two words not usually put together in a sentence.  Until now.  It seems that caffee sospeso is a new and rapidly growing trend.

What the heck is suspended coffee?

suspended coffee

It appears to be when you go to a coffee shop, order your own coffee and also pay for one or more suspended ones.  These extra coffees are held until someone comes in who cannot afford one.

This upcoming coffee trend has been verified by snopes.com  (My go-to place when I want to know if something is real or not.)    Here is the link to snopes.com on suspended coffee.  The snopes article says the tradition may have started in Italy–Naples, Italy to be exact.

Has anyone heard of this in their area?   Would you “suspend” a coffee when you by your morning latte?

4 responses to “Suspended coffee?

  1. Yep! I’ve worked at several coffee shops and it happens pretty often. 🙂

  2. Thanks Erica. I thought maybe it was happening locally.

  3. Thanks Erica. I thought maybe it was happening locally.

  4. Lawrence Strong

    I know a place where this is in practice in Australia. Check them out at http://www.facebook.com/yarragoncafe .