Daily Archives: August 4, 2009

Are you a kegler?

bowling flickr pal berge

flickr pal berge

I have been a kegler in the past.  No, this has nothing to do with any college activities, although college students do kegle.  Some get academic credit for it too.

A kegler is a bowler as in bowling alley, bowling pins, funny shirts and beer frames.

The origin of the word comes from the German language meaning a bowling pin or peg.

Back in the day when I bowled, the term was still use.  A clever team might call themselves the Krazy Keglers, etc.  (Naming bowling teams was an art, as you can see)

I must admit a couple of bowling shirts adorned my closet over the years.  They all had a business name on the back and my name on the front.  One really classy bowling shirt (an oxymoron?) had my last name stitched on the back.

So, I bet some of you were keglers.   As they used to say, “Get out of the streets and into the alleys.”